top of page
Vita

VITA

The German-British singer Laura Hemingway was born in Lüneburg in 1998 and grew up near Munich.
She sang in the Bavarian State Youth Choir and received funding from the Bavarian Singing Academy.
From 2017 to 2021, Laura Hemingway studied for a bachelor's degree in singing with KS Prof. Andreas Schmidt at the University of Music and Theatre in Munich. Since October 2021, she has been continuing her master's degree in concert singing with KS Prof. Christiane Iven in Munich. She received further musical and vocal inspiration from Sabine Lahm, Fritz Schwinghammer and Rudi Spring, among others.
Since October 2021 she has b
een a scholarship holder of the “Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes”.

As part of her studies, Laura Hemingway has so far appeared in various productions of the HMTM's "Music Theatre in the Reaktor". She was involved in "liminal space", a premiere in cooperation with the "Munich Biennale" and sang Serpetta in "La Fanta Giardiniera" and Pamina in "The Magic Flute" by W. A. Mozart.

Latterly within her studies Laura Hemingway changed from soprano to mezzo-soprano.

Laura Hemingway 7798 Kopie.jpg
Laura Hemingway.jpg

In July 2023 she took the solo singing role in „Scene of a nocturnal reminiscence“ (Szene einer nächtlichen Reminiszenz) - a miniature opera by Marko Jukić and Hannah Wendel. This mono-opera being part of „Playlist“, a writing workshop of the Ludwigs-Maximilians-University and the HMTM, was performed in collaboration with the „Kammerspiele München“ as well as the Bavarian State Opera and was received to critical acclaim. 

 

Apart from appearances as a soloist, Laura Hemingway sings in various vocal ensembles. In the summer of 2018 she took part in a premiere of the Bavarian State Opera's Festival Workshop of “Die Vorübergehenden” by Nikolaus Brass (director: Marie Jacquot).
This solo vocal ensemble later developed into the “LauschWerk” ensemble, which is directed by Prof. Martin Steidler. With this ensemble she has sung in concerts of vocal music by Heinrich Schütz and in recordings of the “Chigi Codex”, one of the most important music manuscripts from the period of Franco-Flemish vocal polyphony. The ensemble performed in the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg in September 2023. 


Laura Hemingway has also sung with the “capella sollertia” (under the direction of Johanna Soller) and is a member of the chamber choir of St. Peter in Munich. With the young ensemble “Vokalzirkel” she most recently took part in the opera production “Angel’s Bone” by the composer Du Yun at the Augsburg State Theater.

Last updated: October 2023

 

This vita is intended for informational purposes only and may not be used externally. You can find a vita for program booklets or similar in the downloads area.

bottom of page

top of page
Vita

VITA

Die deutsch-britische Sängerin Laura Hemingway wurde 1998 in Lüneburg geboren und wuchs in der Nähe Münchens auf.
Sie sang im Bayerischen Landesjugendchor und erhielt eine Förderung durch die Bayerische Singakademie.
Von 2017 bis 2021 studierte Laura Hemingway im Bachelor-Studiengang Gesang bei KS Prof. Andreas Schmidt an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München (HMTM). Seit Oktober 2021 setzt sie ihr Studium im Master Konzertgesang bei KS Prof. Christiane Iven in München fort. Weitere musikalische und gesangliche Impulse erhielt sie u.a. von Sabine Lahm, Fritz Schwinghammer und Rudi Spring.
Seit Oktober 2021 ist sie Stipendiatin der „Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes“.

Im Rahmen ihres Studiums war Laura bislang in verschiedenen Produktionen des „Musiktheater im Reaktor“ der HMTM zu erleben. So war sie bei „liminal space“, einer Uraufführung in Kooperation mit der „Münchener Biennale“ beteiligt und sang die Serpetta in „La Finta Giardiniera“ sowie die Pamina in „Die Zauberflöte“ von W. A. Mozart.

Im späteren Verlauf ihres Studiums wechselte Laura Hemingway vom Sopran zum Mezzosopran.

Laura Hemingway 7798 Kopie.jpg
Laura Hemingway.jpg

Im Juli 2023 wirkte sie in der „Szene einer nächtlichen Reminiszenz“ mit - einer Miniaturoper von Marko Jukić und Hannah Wendel. Diese Mono-Oper wurde im Rahmen von „Playlist“, einer Schreibwerkstatt der LMU und der HMTM, in Kooperation mit den Kammerspielen München sowie der Bayerischen Staatsoper zur Aufführung gebracht und dabei von den Kritiken hochgelobt.

 

Neben ihrer solistischen Tätigkeit singt Laura Hemingway in verschiedenen Vokal-ensembles. Im Sommer 2018 wirkte sie in einer Uraufführung der Festspielwerkstatt der Bayerischen Staatsoper „Die Vorübergehenden“ von Nikolaus Brass (Leitung: Marie Jacquot) mit.
Aus diesem solistisch besetzten Vokalensemble entwickelte sich später das Ensemble „LauschWerk“, das von Prof. Martin Steidler geleitet wird. Mit diesem Ensemble sang sie u.a. in Konzerten mit Vokalmusik von Heinrich Schütz und bei Aufnahmen des „Chigi-Kodex“, eines der bedeutendsten Musikmanuskripte aus der Zeit der franko-flämischen Vokal-Polyphonie. Im September 2023 war das Ensemble in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg zu erleben.

Darüber hinaus sang Laura Hemingway in Konzerten mit der „capella sollertia“ (unter der Leitung von Johanna Soller) und ist Mitglied im Vokalensemble St. Peter München. Mit dem jungen Ensemble „Vokalzirkel“ wirkte sie zuletzt am Staatstheater Augsburg in der Opern-Produktion „Angel’s Bone“ der Komponistin Du Yun mit.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: Oktober 2023

 

Diese Vita ist nur zur Information gedacht und darf nicht extern verwendet werden. Eine Vita für Programmhefte oder ähnliches finden Sie im Bereich Downloads.

bottom of page